13 January 2017

The Friday 56 | Girls in the Moon


Hosted weekly by Freda's Voice. 

Happy Friday!

This week, I'm sharing from Janet McNally's Girls in the Moon, one of the exciting books that recently landed on my doorstep thanks to Book of the Month. Like A Monster Calls, this is another book I'm hoping to read soon... But for now, I'll settle for a snippet. Enjoy!

08 January 2017

A Fast-Paced & Dangerous Read | Because You're Mine by Colleen Coble

ABOUT THE BOOK

Alanna has been plagued by tragedy. So it should come as no surprise that in the beauty that surrounds Charleston, all is not as it seems.

When her husband is killed by a car bomb while their band is on tour in Charleston, Alanna doesn’t know where to turn. Her father-in-law is threatening to take custody of the baby she carries, but the one thing she knows for sure is that she can’t lose the last piece of Liam she has left.

Their manager offers her a marriage of convenience to gain her U.S. citizenship and allow her to escape her father-in-law’s control. It seems like the perfect solution . . . but her doubts begin almost as soon as she arrives at Barry’s family home, a decaying mansion surrounded by swamp.

To make matters worse, Liam’s best friend survived the car bomb. She’s never really liked Jesse and now she can’t seem to get away from him. When he takes Liam’s place in their band, it’s almost more than she can bear.

But then things start happening. Things that could easily cost Alanna her life—or the life of her unborn child. Are they merely coincidences? Or is there something much more sinister at work?


MY REVIEW

Like most Colleen Coble novels, Because You’re Mine offers to its readers a fast-paced mystery full of suspense, danger, and action—but with an added hint of Irish brogue and romantic confusion. It’s certainly exciting and capable being a page-turning, nail-biting delight.

Yet… despite these excellent element, the story didn’t work for me. From start to finish, Because You’re Mine has a lot happening to and around Alanna, and at times, I felt Coble attempted to address and accomplish too much within her plot and without any character growth. The more I read, the more implausible the combination of everything seemed (and the more Alanna annoyed me with her not-quite-believable trusting naivete). And still, Because You’re Mine played out fairly predictably, and I easily guessed the big revelations early in the story.

I hate to say that I wouldn’t recommend this latest Colleen Coble novel. It seems to have a promising storyline, and it did keep my attention well, but in the end, I was just a little disappointed.

★★★

Thanks to BookLook Bloggers, I received a copy of Because You’re Mine and the opportunity to provide an honest review. I was not required to write a positive review, and all the opinions I have expressed are my own.

06 January 2017

The Friday 56 | A Monster Calls

Hosted weekly by Freda's Voice. 

Happy Friday!

Well, it's been a few weeks since last I participated in a Friday 56... But it's a new yearand time for me to get back into the swing of things. 

So, I'm starting off the year with A Monster Calls. I've been interested to read this one for many monthsplus the movie looks quite good, too. I hope I can start reading it soon (fingers crossed).

05 January 2017

Complicated & Dark | Girl in Pieces by Kathleen Glasgow

ABOUT THE BOOK

Fans of Girl, Interrupted, Thirteen Reasons Why, and All the Bright Places will love the New York Times bestselling novel Girl in Pieces.

"A haunting, beautiful, and necessary book that will stay with you long after you've read the last page." 
—Nicola Yoon, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Everything, Everything

Charlotte Davis is in pieces. At seventeen she’s already lost more than most people do in a lifetime. But she’s learned how to forget. The broken glass washes away the sorrow until there is nothing but calm. You don’t have to think about your father and the river. Your best friend, who is gone forever. Or your mother, who has nothing left to give you.

Every new scar hardens Charlie’s heart just a little more, yet it still hurts so much. It hurts enough to not care anymore, which is sometimes what has to happen before you can find your way back from the edge.

A deeply moving portrait of a girl in a world that owes her nothing, and has taken so much, and the journey she undergoes to put herself back together. Kathleen Glasgow's debut is heartbreakingly real and unflinchingly honest. It’s a story you won’t be able to look away from.


MY REVIEW

From cutting and suicide to addiction and abuse, Kathleen Glasgow’s well-written, character-driven debut novel does not shy away from a number of serious, relevant, tragic issues, making it a difficult book to read—but also worthwhile.

Glasgow explores the complex and painful process of healing, as main character Charlie begins the novel in a treatment facility before later venturing into the real world. Day by day, she works to piece her life back together in a healthy way, and amidst a cast of thoughtfully portrayed characters, she has moments of great success and then equally great failure. Many moments frustrated me, because I quickly came to care about Charlie and wanted the best for her, yet through every page, her journey feels authentic—heartbreakingly and hopefully so.

With its multitude of profanity, drug use, and sexual references, I know Girl in Pieces is not one to recommend to everyone. But I liked it, and for the reader interested in contemporary stories involving heavy topics, this is definitely a book to add to the TBR list.

★★★★

Thanks to Blogging for Books, I received a copy of Girl in Pieces and the opportunity to provide an honest review. I was not required to write a positive review, and all the opinions I have expressed are my own.

02 January 2017

Bout of Books 18

Bout of Books 18
The Bout of Books read-a-thon is organized by Amanda @ On a Book Bender and Kelly @ Reading the Paranormal. It is a week long read-a-thon that begins 12:01am Monday, January 2nd and runs through Sunday, January 8th in whatever timezone you are in. Bout of Books is low-pressure. There are challenges, giveaways, and a grand prize, but all of these are completely optional. For all Bout of Books 17 information and updates, be sure to visit the Bout of Books blog. -From the Bout of Books team

Happy New Year!

I'm so excited for another Bout of Book read-a-thon. With the holiday season just coming to a close, I desperately want to reestablish a rhythm for reading and blogging. And here's the list I'm hoping will help me with that endeavor:

-The Autobiography of Mrs. Tom Thumb by Melanie Benjamin
-Because You're Mine by Colleen Coble
-Buried Memories by Carol J. Post
-It Started With Goodbye by Christina June
-Maisie Dobbs by Jacqueline Winspear
-Misery Loves Company by Rene Gutteridge
-The Raven King by Maggie Stiefvater

And throughout this read-a-thon week, I'll be posting here with my progress.

Happy reading!

29 December 2016

Unfolding by Jonathan Friesen

★★★★
Goodreads | Amazon
Jonah wishes he could get the girl, but he’s an outcast and she’s the most perfect girl he knows.

And their futures seemed destined to fork apart: Jonah’s physical condition is debilitating, and epileptic seizures fill his life with frustration. Whereas Stormi is seemingly carefree, and navigates life by sensing things before they happen. And her most recent premonition is urging her to leave town.

When Stormi begs Jonah for help, he finds himself swept into a dark mystery his small town has been keeping for years. And the answers Stormi needs about her own past could possibly destroy everything Jonah has ever known—including his growing relationship with Stormi herself.

15 December 2016

ScriptureDoodle by April Knight

About the Books
★★★★★
Goodreads | Amazon
With inspiring exercises and prompts, this unique interactive guide introduces readers to a creative connection between Bible study, artistic expression, and worship.

Often, in the busyness of life, Christians forget that God created them to enjoy creativity. With guided instruction and completed examples, this beautiful book invites readers to draw closer to God through their own art.

More than a coloring book, ScriptureDoodle is a combination of Bible study, creative expression, and artistic community with artwork shared online at #scripturedoodle. 

Exploring topics such as being generous, finding rest, and facing grief, ScriptureDoodle gives the heart the creative space it needs. This book stimulates the reader's imagination and helps integrate God's Word into everyday life.


★★★★★
Goodreads | Amazon
Some of the most incredible stories in the Bible are of God's promises and faithfulness to His children.

ScriptureDoodle God's Promises refreshes believers who are feeling burned out or stuck in a rut in their relationship with God. Each of the creative worship prompts in this interactive guide includes biblical encouragement and ideas for worship through art. Artist April Knight includes creative lettering tips, color ideas, and completed examples to inspire readers to respond to promises in Scripture related to trust, faith, and the power of God's Word in all circumstances.

This unique blend of Bible study and creative expression provides the opportunity to connect with God as Creator in a new, life-changing way.