06 August 2014

Waiting on Wednesday: Thief of Glory

Hosted weekly by Breaking the Spine 
to spotlight eagerly-anticipated upcoming releases.

Goodreads | Amazon
Title: Thief of Glory
Author: Sigmund Brouwer
Publisher: WaterBrook Press
Expected Publication Date: 19 August 2014

In the tradition of Brock and Bodie Thoene's Zion Chronicles and history-meets-contemporary mysteries like those of bestseller Kate Morton, this WWII drama is both exciting in its revelations and heart-rending in its truth about human nature and forgiveness.

In the early 1940s, Jeremiah Prins was a 12-year-old living a content life as the son of a school headmaster in the Dutch East Indies (Indonesia). When Holland declared war on the Japanese in 1941, the situation changed swiftly. The Japanese army invaded, and Jeremiah and his family were placed in a Japanese prisoner-of-war camp – a camp Jeremiah finally escapes and returns to Holland. Yet wartime complications force him to abandon a marriage engagement with Laura Jensen. The young man flees to California, where he struggles with the lingering anger and war stress he faced as a child.

Determined to find some kind of redemption, a now-elderly Jeremiah tries to make sense of his life by journaling of all that he does not want to reveal to his children about his past, intending to leave his writings as an apology after he is gone.

An online encounter puts Jeremiah in touch with his true love from the war years, Laura, and when they meet again, it triggers the time bomb of long-buried secrets. Even seventy years later, if uncovered, these secrets can harm everyone who matters to Jeremiah.

Why I'm Waiting: I saw a bit of buzz about this book, and when I checked out the Goodreads blurb, I couldn't help but add it to my TBR list. I love historical novels with intrigue and secrets. 

6 comments:

  1. This seems so intense! Great Pick! Definitely adding it to my TBR list :)

    Here's our WoW

    Nemo @ Blame it on the Book

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thanks! Glad you stopped by!

      Delete
  2. Love this era! It looks good!
    Missie @ A Flurry of Ponderings

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Me too! Thanks for stopping by!

      Delete
  3. Awesome choice! It sounds really interesting! Here's mine: http://reviewsbymolly.com/waiting-on-wednesday-6/

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thanks! Glad you stopped by!

      Delete

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...