16 June 2021

Black Dawn Series | Excerpt + Giveaway


"Hope was a dangerous thing. It could consume every dream and make them take flight, becoming wild daydreams in one's heart and mind. Or hope could incinerate everything you thought you knew, burning you down to your core, leaving you raw and exposed for the world."

Emory Fae has only known one thing--life at The Academy, a school for those who have special abilities. Following in her parents' footsteps, the pressure to uphold their dream falls on her and one of her best friends--Adair Stratton. An outcast and feared by most, Adair longs to break away from the expectations dictating his future. With whispers of dark magic spreading across Kiero, Adair starts to doubt The Academy is all it seems.

An unexpected visit ignites new tensions as the roguish king from across the Black Sea, Tadeas Maher of the Shattered Isles, and his heir, Marquis Maher, sail to Kiero. Notorious for their pirating and wrath, for the first time in years, they demand the Faes listen to their proposition for a new treaty. Caught in the middle of politics, Adair and Emory, with the help of their best friends Brokk and Memphis, search for the one thing that matters the most--the truth.

Their world is tipped upside down as unlikely alliances are made, and war ravages Kiero. Through the throes of betrayal, lies, hidden magic, and love, Adair is faced with a life changing decision. Will he fight or bow to the darkness within?

But, Adair's decision will change the course of Kiero forever, setting in motion irreversible destinies for everyone at The Academy as Emory Fae rises as heir.

Heir of Lies is the first book in the bestselling Black Dawn series.

Release Date: April 21, 2020

"You lived your entire life feeling like half of you was missing. Fight for the missing part. Fight for this."

Emory Fae has abandoned everything she thought she knew about her previous life on Earth. Stepping up to her role as Queen of Kiero she makes a startling sacrifice- feigning her allegiances to Adair Stratton, the man who murdered her parents and casted Kiero into ruin. Emory's memories slowly piece together, and she soon realizes the Mad King may not be all he seems-- and the man who was once best friend, may be fighting beneath the surface.

With the King's attention on her, can she buy Black Dawn Rebellion enough time to recuperate their forces? And when the times comes, will she be able to kill Adair, ending his tyranny and rising herself as the rightful Queen? Fighting to hide her secret, Emory navigates the brutal trials of the Mad King, trying not to lose herself in the process.

Sequel to Heir of Lies, now a bestselling series, the sparks are ignited, as Emory learns the cost of freedom, and her heritage. Will the rebels unite in time? A sinister force has spread across the land, stripping everyone bare- their betrayals, their secrets, their intentions. But above all, what will their decisions cost? By refusing to give in to the darkness, will Emory rise as Queen?

Release Date: April 21, 2020



The sisters knew their world, Daer, had been born from the marrow of nightmares: A flicker of shadows and a drumming of lust was the first sluggish recognition of a memory they had. Their rage was cultivated from the echoes of screams, a private orchestra just for them, building a woven masterpiece—crashing, consuming, inspiring, haunting.

It stirred within them, in this in-between place, and like a vessel, existence and sustenance carried them on. For years, they waited, feeding and growing. The shadows grew, and their minds and bodies did as well. The fear of the world waged, igniting them. Then, in fractured, splintering light, it all changed.

They had been found. No longer just a pulse of darkness. No longer caged. And as that man grinned viciously at them, they knew everything from then on would be different. The sister that had been once called Lasair tilted her head, ripping herself out of the memory. She inhaled the scents on the wind, a web of stories that she sifted through, searching for the one they sought. Her bloodlust was a wild, burning thing, and she quelled it. They couldn’t win this world if their king made rash decisions. No, they had to play this game of lies and betrayal until they moved their pawns exactly where they needed them, leaving their path clear… Then nothing could stop them.

Hissing in pleasure, her magic flared, burning and consuming: destroying worlds had always been an exchange of energy; even in Daer. The sisters killed and stole the magic of the fey for their master until Daer was nothing but an empty shell and their king had been made invincible.

After the world lay barren, the sisters were sent searching for another world to feed their king and ensure his immortal reign.


Mallory McCartney currently lives in Sarnia, Ontario with her husband and their three dachshunds Link, Lola and Leonard. When she isn’t working on her next novel or reading, she can be found day dreaming about fantasy worlds and hiking. Other favorite pastimes involve reorganizing perpetually overflowing bookshelves and seeking out new coffee and dessert shops.

One winner will receive a signed copy of Kingdom of Broken Iron, book three in the series releasing this October (open internationally)

Ends June 23, 2021

a Rafflecopter giveaway

No comments:

Post a Comment