06 March 2015

Anna's Crossing by Suzanne Woods Fisher

About the Book
Some endings are really beginnings…

On a hot day in 1737 in Rotterdam, Anna König reluctantly sets foot on the Charming Nancy, a merchant ship that will carry her and her fellow Amish believers across the Atlantic to start a new life. As the only one in her community who can speak English, she feels compelled to go. But Anna is determined to complete this journey and return home – assuming she survives. She's heard horrific tales of ocean crossings and worse ones of what lay ahead in the New World. But fearfulness is something Anna has never known. 

Ship's carpenter Bairn resents the somber people – dubbed Peculiars by the deckhands – who fill the lower deck of the Charming Nancy. All Bairn wants to do is to put his lonely past behind him, but that irksome and lovely lass Anna and her people keep intruding on him.

Delays, storms, illness, and diminishing provisions test the mettle and patience of everyone on board. When Anna is caught in a life-threatening situation, Bairn makes a discovery that shakes his entire foundation. But has the revelation come too late?

Bestselling author Suzanne Woods Fisher invites you back to the beginning of Amish life in America with this fascinating glimpse into the first ocean crossing – and the lives of two intrepid people who braved it.

I have enjoyed every Suzanne Woods Fisher book I have read, but I think I particularly enjoyed this newest one, Anna’s Crossing, due to the change in setting. Anna’s Crossing takes place in the eighteenth century, aboard the Charming Nancy. As the characters set out from Germany and head for the New World, they encounter numerous challenges in circumstances and relationships, and I loved joining them for the journey. This story is riveting and satisfying, filled with adventure and romance, and I would recommend it for fans of Amish and/or historical fiction. It is an entertaining read that has made me eager to read more from Suzanne Woods Fisher.

Thanks to Revell Reads, I received a copy of Anna’s Crossing and the opportunity to provide an honest review. I was not required to write a positive review, and all the opinions I have expressed are my own. 

About the Author
Suzanne Woods Fisher is the bestselling author of the Lancaster County Secrets series, the Stoney Ridge Seasons series, and the Inn at Eagle Hill series, as well as nonfiction books about the Amish, including Amish Peace. She is also the coauthor of an Amish children's series, The Adventures of Lily Lapp. Suzanne is a Carol Award winner for The Search, a Carol Award finalist for The Choice, and a Christy Award finalist for The Waiting. She is also a columnist for Christian Post and Cooking & Such magazines. She lives in California. Learn more at her website and follow Suzanne on Twitter.

No comments:

Post a Comment