01 July 2015

The Innocent by Ann H. Gabhart

About the Book
She longs for peace – for her land and her heart – but can it truly be found at Harmony Hill?

Carlyn Kearney has spent two lonely years not knowing whether to mourn or to hope after she receives word from the Union Army that her husband is missing. When the war ends without further word, Carlyn finds herself penniless, in debt, and forced from her home. With nowhere else to go, she seeks refuge at the Shaker village of Harmony Hill.

The Shakers profess peace through simple living, but to Carlyn, the Shaker life seems anything but simple. When mysterious deaths disturb the peace of the village, Carlyn falls under intense scrutiny. Can a kind sheriff help her expose the true culprit?

Bestselling author Ann H. Gabhart invites fans back to Harmony Hill for a story laced with intrigue, romance, and heart.

I haven’t read any of Ann H. Gabhart’s previous novels involving the Shakers, so when I started reading The Innocent, I knew nothing of this historical community. But I quickly learned how well it offers an interesting backdrop for Gabhart’s characters and storyline. On the verge of losing her house, Carlyn Kearney has very few choices after waiting years for her husband to return to war and decides to join the nearby Shaker community, hoping for a bit of peace in her life. Yet, her troubles only seem to follow her as she moves. With plenty of mystery and suspense and a touch of romance, Gabhart delivers the rest of Carlyn’s experience amidst well-crafted characters and unexpected situations. An all-around delightful and intriguing story, The Innocent will please fans of Gabhart’s novels. I thoroughly enjoyed it and would heartily recommend it to interested readers.

Thanks to Revell Reads, I received a copy of The Innocent and the opportunity to provide an honest review. I was not required to write a positive review, and all the opinions I have expressed are my own.

About the Author
Ann H. Gabhart is the bestselling author of several Shaker novels – The Outsider, The Believer, The Seeker, The Blessed, and The Gifted – as well as Angel Sister, Small Town Girl, Love Comes Home, Words Spoken True, and the Heart of Hollyhill series. She lives with her husband a mile from where she was born in rural Kentucky. Learn more at her website.

No comments:

Post a Comment