30 November 2018

The Friday 56 & First Line Friday | The Further Adventures of Ebenezer Scrooge

The Friday 56 is hosted weekly by Freda's Voice.
First Line Friday is hosted weekly by Hoarding Books.

Happy Friday!

Tomorrow's really December? Already?

Well, here's another Christmas-y book that I'll be picking up very soon. I'm looking forward to catching up with Scrooge.


First Line: Scrooge was alive, to begin with.

From Page 56: "Live down here and die down here, too, very often," replied Scrooge solemnly, pushing open a door to reveal a small chamber.




ABOUT THE BOOK
A delightful sequel to Dickens’s beloved A Christmas Carol by the bestselling author of First Impressions and The Bookman’s Tale.

On a hot summer day some twenty years after he was famously converted to kindness, Ebenezer Scrooge still roams the streets of London, spreading Christmas cheer, much to the annoyance of his creditors, nephew, and his employee Bob Cratchit. However, when Scrooge decides to help his old friend and former partner Jacob Marley, as well as other inhabitants of the city, he will need the assistance of the very people he’s annoyed. He’ll also have to call on the three ghosts that visited him two decades earlier. By the time they’re done, they’ve convinced everyone to celebrate Christmas all year long by opening their wallets, arms, and hearts to those around them.

Written in uncannily Dickensian prose, Charlie Lovett’s The Further Adventures of Ebenezer Scrooge is both a loving and winking tribute to the Victorian classic, perfect for readers of A Christmas Carol and other timeless holiday tales.

Now, feel free to leave a line from a book near you in the comments below.
And be sure to stop by Hoarding Books and Freda's Voice for a peek into other books.

7 comments:

  1. I don't think that I've ever actually read Dickens book but the story is a definite part of the culture and language. This week I am featuring Tsumiko and the Enslaved Fox by Forthright - an intriguing new fantasy. Happy reading!

    ReplyDelete
  2. Happy Friday!

    Today on my blog I am sharing the first line from The Liberty Bride by Marylu Tyndall. I’m very excited to get into that book. Because I am just starting this novel, I will post the first two lines from chapter 2.

    “Captain’s orders. You and Mrs. Keate stay here until it’s safe.”

    Hope you have an excellent weekend filled with fantastic reading time! 😃❤️📚

    ReplyDelete
  3. Happy Friday!
    On my blog this week I'm sharing Swimming in the Deep End by Christina Suzann Nelson but I'm currently reading The House Girl by Tara Conklin so I'll share the first line of my current chapter (there's no chapter #s) here: "Do her eyes accuse you?" Hope you have a wonderful weekend with plenty of quality reading time!

    ReplyDelete
  4. Sounds like a fun read!! Happy weekend!

    ReplyDelete
  5. Interesting concept for a book. And I love that first line!

    I’m featuring the first line from Carolyn Miller’s latest release, The Making of Mrs Hale, over on my blog today, but at the moment I’m reading Jerusalem’s Queen by Angela Hunt:

    “They are all here, gathered like vultures around my bed, watching with long faces and occasionally bending near to listen for my breathing.”

    Have a great weekend!

    ReplyDelete
  6. Great opening and beautiful classic cover. I hope it's a fun read for you.

    My Friday 56 from Holly In Hiding

    ReplyDelete
  7. Happy Weekend! My first line is from "Looking Glass Lies" by Varina Denman:

    "I woke up in the middle of the night in our cavernous walk-in closet. Again."

    ReplyDelete

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...