22 February 2016

A Sweet Misfortune by Maggie Brendan

About the Book
Rachel Matthews isn't one to rely on others to take care of her. Homeless and alone, she still wants to make her own way and her own money to buy back the family ranch-even if she's forced into the life of a dance hall girl. Horrified by her circumstances, Rachel's brother, who is away mining for gold, sends a friend to rescue her.

Cattle baron John McIntyre is focused on acquiring as much land as possible in Montana and has little time to deal with a dance hall gal. Rachel isn't sure she can take one more day in John's home-especially once she discovers that he's the one who holds ransom the key to her family's future.

Sparks fly between this spunky, independent heroine and the ruggedly handsome hero as they navigate the snarled terrain of pride, greed, faith, and love in Maggie Brendan's delightful series set in the Old West.

The second in Maggie Brendan’s Vices and Virtues of the Old West series, A Sweet Misfortune offers a story as equally delightful as The Trouble With Patience. Against a great western setting, Brendan introduces stubborn main characters (who need a few lessons on pride) and sets them up for entertaining interactions and complications. From start to finish, I highly enjoyed this quick, lighthearted read. Fans of historical romance will not want to miss A Sweet Misfortune.

Thanks to Revell Reads, I received a copy of A Sweet Misfortune and the opportunity to provide an honest review. I was not required to write a positive review, and all the opinions I have expressed are my own.

About the Author
Maggie Brendan is the CBA bestselling author of the Heart of the West series and the Blue Willow Brides series, as well as The Trouble with Patience. Her books have received the Book Buyers Best Award from the Orange County Chapter of Romance Writers of America and the Laurel Wreath Award. She lives in Georgia.

No comments:

Post a Comment