15 February 2019

Fame, Fate, and the First Kiss | The Friday 56 & First Line Friday

The Friday 56 is hosted weekly by Freda's Voice.
First Line Friday is hosted weekly by Hoarding Books.

Happy Friday!

In honor of Valentine's Day, I can't resist featuring this cute, new YA romance. I'm not sure exactly when I'll have a chance to read it, but I'm keeping my fingers crossed that it's soon. I always have fun with a Kasie West book. 


First Line: "Your face is falling off."

From Page 56: "I found out one of the actresses is in love with Grant, so I'm helping her out. You know, since I'm a notorious matchmaker."




ABOUT THE BOOK

Fan favorite author Kasie West delivers an effervescent story about chasing your dreams and following your heart, perfect for fans of Jenny Han and Huntley Fitzpatrick.

Lacey Barnes has dreamed of being an actress for as long as she can remember. So when she gets the opportunity to star in a movie alongside one of Hollywood’s hottest actors, she doesn’t hesitate to accept the part. 


But Lacey quickly learns that life in the spotlight isn’t as picture perfect as she imagined. She’s having trouble bonding with her costars, her father has hired the definition of a choir boy, Donavan Lake, to tutor her, and somewhere along the way she’s lost her acting mojo. And just when it seems like things couldn’t get any worse, it looks like someone on set is deliberately trying to sabotage her. 

As Lacey’s world spins out of control, it feels like the only person she can count on—whether it’s helping her try to unravel the mystery of who is out to get her or snap her out of her acting funk—is Donavan. But what she doesn’t count on is this straight-laced boy becoming another distraction. 

With her entire future riding on this movie, Lacey knows she can’t afford to get sidetracked by a crush. But for the first time in her life Lacey wonders if it’s true that the best stories really do happen when you go off script.



Now, feel free to leave a line from a book near you in the comments below.
And be sure to stop by Hoarding Books and Freda's Voice for a peek into other books.

11 comments:

  1. This sounds good. I've enjoyed all of her books. I am spotlighting Broken Homes by Ben Aaronovitch this week. Happy reading!

    ReplyDelete
  2. This story sounds cute! I look forward to your thoughts (hopefully you get to read soon!) to see if I want to recommend to my daughter, or maybe just read myself :)

    I'll share the first line from a book I'm starting this weekend, Courting Mr. Emerson by Melody Carlson.

    "George Emerson didn't need anybody."

    Have a lovely weekend!

    ReplyDelete
  3. That book looks super cute! I’m sharing a new release on Faithfully Bookish but here’s the first line from chapter 2 of my current read, Once Bitten by Betsy St. Amant of the Finding Ever After novella collection: “He was going to stand her up.”

    ReplyDelete
  4. Super cute cover! Looks like a good book.

    Happy Friday!

    Today on my blog, I am sharing the first line from Brunch at Bittersweet Cafe by Carla Laureano. I am loving this book so much. I’m currently just starting chapter 19, so I will share the first line from that chapter here.

    “‘A bookstore?’ Justin didn’t mean for his dismay to show in his voice when he pulled up in front of the address Melody had given him, but it escaped all the same.”

    Hope you have a really excellent weekend filled with relaxing reading time. 🙂💜📚

    ReplyDelete
  5. I haven't read anything by Kasie West in a while. Fame, Fate, and the First Kiss looks interesting.

    ReplyDelete
  6. This sounds really cute. I'll have to add it to my list.

    ReplyDelete
  7. Sounds like a sweet read!! Happy weekend!

    ReplyDelete
  8. The Friday 56 quote is quite funny. Enjoy the book. My Friday quotes come from Life on Mars

    ReplyDelete
  9. Happy Friday! I’m sharing from my current read today, American Omens by Travis Thrasher (Uncorrected Proof). Her is the first line from Chapter 17 “The Same Page”:

    “The moment her father stepped foot in the barn that morning, Cheyenne couldn’t help but let loose with an uproarious laugh.”

    ReplyDelete
  10. Happy Weekend! My first line is from "If Only It Were Yesterday" by A. M. Heath:

    "Oomph. Something solid bashed into my shoulder, knocking me off balance."

    ReplyDelete
  11. Happy Reading!!!

    Today I'm sharing the first lines from A Flight of Arrows by Lori Benton:

    "Satahuhsiyost -- Listen! Open your ears to a story I will tell you."

    https://moments-of-beauty.blogspot.com/2019/02/first-line-fridays-flight-of-arrows.html

    ReplyDelete

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...